Does God Want You Rich?

Does God Want You Rich?

Tai Lopez said: Warren Buffett, the world’s greatest investor said, “The more you learn, the more you earn.” However, Tai says that you can’t just learn, but you need a strategy, and then you must get around people who know how to execute, and immerse yourself in the skills of execution.

As I have learned, I have noticed that there are a lot of people in America, a great place to make money and get rich, but they (me!) have not put together strategies and execution to propel ourselves to greater prosperity. While others may poo-poo, and knock what they call “prosperity preachers” (Dr. Fred Price, Bishop I.V. Hilliard, Dr. Creflo Dollar, Kenneth Copeland, Pastor Bill Winston, Pastor Joel Osteen, Joyce Meyers, Jesse Duplantis,T.D. Jakes, and others), I did not get that memo that these were “prosperity preachers”!

I began following Dr. Price back in the 1980s and found his preaching very uplifting and encouraging. I must have missed his teachings that God wanted me rich! However, I read one of his books where he began to use his faith in God for more than salvation and a headache. He began as an average preacher with not much.  He began to question God about his state in life (the somewhat poverty state!) and was inspired to learn from those preachers who were in the “faith movement” and were doing well. He discovered that preached the whole Gospel, but was not afraid to talk about the blessings God has for His people.  Thus, Dr. Fred Price began to also take a new look at those Bible scriptures on health and wealth and wondered why only Heaven, Hell, sin, death, and blessings in the hereafter were the main parts of the Bible preached.

When Fred Price began to share the ENTIRE Gospel of the Bible, including being blessed (with opposition) while ON earth, his membership began to grow immensely.  Then came more criticism from those who shied away from too many Bible verses on being blessed while on earth.  Fred Price noticed that not many people criticized the Anglo American pastors and preachers who were doing well while helping their congregation and others.  However, as he began to have more than many people thought he should have, he came under severe criticism.  But, Fred Price was determined to preach the ENTIRE Bible, including the parts about salvation, living a righteous life, dealing with disasters in life—and, on the blessings of God.

After observing Fred Price, Kenneth Copeland, and others who were helping people, and yet were blessed with a better life than many preachers, I was encouraged to really re-read the Bible for myself and discovered that while everyone in the Bible was not wealthy, many people were, and God didn’t have a problem with that.  I also noticed that the Bible encouraged people not to seek for riches and not to fall in love with money.  So, I saw the caution flag on spending too much time just talking and preaching and listening to what others were calling the “prosperity message.”  However, as a person who spent much of my life among the poor and middle class, including preachers, I was glad to hear that I didn’t have to wait for the “sweet by and by” before the Creator would allow me to enjoy some of the blessings on earth.   I then noticed that others like Dr. Creflo Dollar, Pastor Bill Winston, Pastor Joel Osteen, Joyce Myers, Jesse Duplantis, T.D. Jakes and others were also doing well while touching lives and helping people in America and around the world.  Then it hit me!  Many “non-prosperity preachers,” “non-prosperity Christians,” and jealous people attacked the so-called prosperity preachers.  I wondered why, but found some more answers when I spent 8 years under the ministry of Dr. I.V. Hilliard of Houston.

I was introduced to Dr. Hilliard’s ministry through my daughter and her family who attended.  She warned me to just listen to his teachings, check out his past history, and observe his fruit.  She KNEW I would be somewhat taken aback when I discovered this man and the ministry lived well, had a jet, a helicopter, and some fine cars.  She asked me to just listen, read the Bible for myself with more opened eyes on ALL the Bible before I began my condemnation.

Sure enough, I was shocked at some of the teachings initially.  Then, I remembered the teachings I heard from Fred Price and others.  I did more thorough investigation of the Bible, Bible history, and many Christians who had a measure of prosperity.  I discovered that Bishop Hilliard spoke about sin, living right, not going after prosperity for prosperity-sake, and not give to God hoping to get something in return.  However, he did share Scriptures on how God had promised to bless people who obeyed ALL of His Word, including giving, not to get, but in obedience to God’s Word.  Dr. Hilliard also taught that God knows our hearts and if He detected that any Christian was going after prosperity for selfish reasons, then that the prosperity and/or ministry of that person would not last long.  It seemed that God was looking at our motivations rather than our desire to be more prosperous in order to be a greater blessing to our family, expand the work of ministry locally and around the world, to help the poor, to train people on the WHOLE Bible, and not to get mad at God if we didn’t get rich!

So, through being around wealthy people, poor people, prosperous preachers, poor preachers, and all in between in the various churches I observed or worked in, I have discovered that if we desire to please the Creator, have the right knowledge, right strategies, and surround ourselves with positive mentors and teachers, our lives will be abundantly blessed.  I also learned that prosperity is more than having money and stuff, but prosperity can be in good health, being able to do more for family and others, and to share the Good News that God loves people, and He wants them to live in harmony—now, and in the future.  If that living on earth means that I may never be rich, but am blessed in my relationship to the Creator, family, and others, I am, indeed, very prosperous!

If you want more prosperity in your life, here are some keys I have learned:

  • Don’t make getting rich your goal;
  • Don’t walk on others in order to get rich;
  • Don’t sacrifice health, family, or friends in order to get rich;
  • Do understand that being rich in having needs met is also a way of being rich;
  • Develop a plan to help others get more of what they want in life, and you MAY get more of whatever it is that is positive that you want in life;
  • Do educate yourself and develop strategies on developing your talents in order to help more people; and
  • Do surround yourself with positive mentors who have achieved a measure of success, and willing to help you become more positive, even if they do share the “Prosperity Preaching!”
Leave a Reply

